Although, for obvious reasons, no state takes the issue of domestic
assault lightly, Texas especially cracks down on the matter. As a matter of
fact, there's an entire chapter in the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure that
focuses on the pressing concerns of violence in the household and within the
family. While it's great to have such protection, however, any matter that is
taken so seriously in the state courts is bound to be difficult to deal with
It's unfortunate, but there is an unacceptably high number of domestic
violence cases in Texas. According to a study in 2011, 74% of Texans had either
been involved in a case of domestic abuse or known someone personally who had.
In other words, it's a matter that concerns everyone.
If you're experiencing domestic abuse, it's not a matter you should be
afraid to bring in front of the courts – the punishments are hefty. Get a good
family lawyer in Texas, like Marshall
Davis Brown to ensure justice. The penalties, of course, depend on the case, but no
one gets away clean. A first offense of domestic assault is typically
considered a Class A misdemeanor, which could lead to up to one year in jail
and/or up to $4,000 in fines. Remember – that's the lowest charge, it can only
get worse from there.
If you're charged again, your punishment will worsen. A second offense
can potentially be considered a felony in the third degree, earning you up to
ten years in prison and/or up to $10,000 in fines.
Aggravated domestic assault can earn a person a sentence of five to life
in prison, and up to $10,000 in fines.
In other words, justice will be served. Never keep quiet about your case
– the law is on your side, especially in Texas.